

PINELLAS SUNCOAST TRANSIT AUTHORITY 3201 SCHERER DRIVE, ST. PETERSBURG, FL 33716 WWW.PSTA.NET 727.540.1800 FAX 727.540.1913

TRANSIT RIDERS ADVISORY COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES – NOVEMBER 15, 2016

The Transit Riders Advisory Committee (TRAC) of the Pinellas Suncoast Transit Authority (PSTA) held a meeting in the Auditorium at PSTA Headquarters at 4:00 PM on this date. The purpose of the meeting was to approve the October 18, 2016 meeting minutes, provide members with updated "information" sections for their notebooks, and elect new officers for the Committee. The following members were present:

Elaine Mann, Committee Chair Gloria Lepik-Corrigan, Committee Vice-Chair Julie DiPietrantonio John Estok David Kovar Richard McDaniel Mark O'Hara Elisabeth Olden Tanya Pistillo Kimberly Rankine David Schneider Portia Smith Carson Zimmer

<u>Absent:</u> Teresa Dunphy Alejandra Mesa Dave Stanton Christopher Talley

<u>Also Present</u>: Brad Miller, CEO PSTA Staff Members

CALL TO ORDER

Committee Vice-Chair Lepik-Corrigan opened the meeting at 4:05 PM.

[Chair Mann entered the meeting at 4:10 PM and led the rest of the meeting]

PUBLIC COMMENT

There were no public comments.

ACTION ITEMS

<u>Approval of Minutes</u> – Mr. O'Hara made a motion, seconded by Ms. Rankine to approve the minutes of the October 18, 2016 meeting. The motion passed unanimously.

<u>Election of Officers</u> – Cassandra Borchers, Chief Development Officer, oversaw the nominations and election of Committee Chair and Vice-Chair for the TRAC Committee. Mrs. Borchers passed out ballots for both Committee Chair and Vice-Chair listing TRAC members who are eligible (who have served two years) for nomination. She asked for nominations for Committee Chair and Ms. DiPietrantonio nominated Vice-Chair Lepik-Corrigan for Committee Chair. Mr. Zimmer nominated himself for Committee Chair. The Committee members voted by a majority of seven to five to elect Ms. Lepik-Corrigan as Committee Chair.

Ms. Borchers then asked for Vice-Chair nominations. Committee Chair Lepik-Corrigan nominated Mr. Carson Zimmer for Vice-Chair. Mr. O'Hara nominated himself. The Committee members voted by a majority of eight to four to elect Mr. Zimmer as Vice-Chair.

INFORMATION ITEMS

<u>Meeting Etiquette/Sunshine Law/Public Records</u> - Ms. Borchers discussed the "Do's and Don'ts" of the Florida Sunshine Law. She reminded the Committee members to not hold any in-person or phone conversations, or send emails or texts among other members of the Committee regarding items that may come before them. Committee members may attend social functions with other members as long as they do not discuss Committee business. Ms. Borchers indicated that staff is always available to discuss issues with Committee members. Ms. Borchers reiterated the importance of good attendance (maintaining an 80% attendance rate) to remain on the Committee and help ensure a quorum is met when voting on action items.

<u>Clearwater Transit Improvements</u> - Ms. Borchers updated the Committee on the status of several short and long range projects that PSTA and the City of Clearwater are working on to improve transit connections in Clearwater and the surrounding regions:

- Clearwater Beach to Tampa International Airport (TIA) Express
- Clearwater Beach Bus Bay (Jolley Trolley, Suncoast Beach Trolley and the future TIA Express)
- Clearwater Intermodal Center (proposed new site to replace the overcrowded Park Street Transfer Center)
- Memorial Causeway Bus Way (Florida Department of Transportation (FDOT), is re-examining the possibility of a bus way over the Memorial Causeway)
- SR 60 Corridor Evaluation (Forward Pinellas' plans to enhance mobility in the SR 60 corridor from TIA to Clearwater Beach.

OTHER BUSINESS

No other business was discussed.

ADJOURNMENT

The meeting was adjourned at 5:07 PM. The next meeting will be held on January 17th at 4:00 PM.